Table of ContentsView in Frames

What a reprotect operation does

A reprotect operation is a reverse replication operation. You use this operation after a recovery operation to restore to the SnapMirror relationship from the recovery site to the original protected site (the site that went down). After this operation, the site roles are reversed. The recovery site serves data and acts as the protected site. The original protected site now acts as the recovery site.

Following a failover, the recovery site takes over all the jobs that you had been performing on the protected site and enables you to continue working with data. You can make changes to the job settings and the data the same way you could when you were working on the protected site.

When Storage Replication Adapter fails back to the protected site and runs a reprotect operation, the SnapMirror replication operation reverses. All the changes that you made on the recovery site are replicated to the protected site, and protected site begins serving data. SnapMirror syncs the two sites.

Note: When the SnapMirror relationship is reversed during a reprotect operation, Storage Replication Adapter does not check the protected site to determine whether you made any changes to the SnapMirror policy while you were working on that site. Any changes you made that policy on the protected site not restored when the protected site is brought back up. However, Storage Replication Adapter issues a warning if this happens.

Site Recovery Manager provides the replication settings during the reverse replication so Storage Replication Adapter can recreate the original settings.

You can perform a reprotect operation by selecting the Reprotect button in the VMware vSphere Web Client.