The restore operation from a SnapVault backup copies a single, specified Snapshot copy from a SnapVault secondary volume to a specified volume. Restoring a volume from a SnapVault secondary volume changes the view of the active file system but preserves all earlier Snapshot copies in the SnapVault backup.
Before restoring a volume, you must shut down any application that accesses data in a volume to which a restore is writing data. Therefore, you must dismount the file system, shut down any database, and deactivate and quiesce the Logical Volume Manager (LVM) if you are using an LVM.
The restore operation is disruptive. When the restore operation finishes, the cluster administrator or Storage Virtual Machine (SVM) administrator must remount the volume and restart all applications that use the volume.
The restore destination volume must not be the destination of another mirror or the secondary of another SnapVault relationship.
You can restore to the following volumes:
You can restore from a SnapVault secondary volume back to the original SnapVault primary volume.
You can restore from a SnapVault secondary volume to a new, empty secondary volume. You must first create the volume as a data protection (DP) volume.
You can restore from a SnapVault secondary volume to a volume that is prepopulated with data. The volume must have a Snapshot copy in common with the restore primary volume and must not be a DP volume.