Table of ContentsView in Frames

Deleting a mirror copy

You can delete a mirror relationship and the destination FlexVol volume or Infinite Volume if you no longer want the mirror copy.

About this task

When you delete a mirror copy, you must delete the mirror relationship and the destination volume. Deleting the mirror relationship does not delete SnapMirror created Snapshot copies on either the source or destination volumes. Deleting the mirror relationship attempts to delete Snapshot copy owners for the SnapMirror created Snapshot copies on both source and destination volumes.

When you delete a load-sharing mirror copy from a set of load-sharing mirror copies, the destination volume of the deleted load-sharing mirror relationship cannot be used again as a destination volume of a load-sharing relationship if it contains any data or Snapshot copies.

Steps

  1. Optional: On the source Storage Virtual Machine (SVM), use the snapmirror list-destination command to view the list of destination volumes for that source volume.
    Example
    vs1::> snapmirror list-destinations
                                                      Progress
    Source             Destination         Transfer   Last         Relationship
    Path         Type  Path         Status Progress   Updated      Id
    ----------- ----- ------------ ------- --------- ------------ ---------------
    vs1:src_ui  DP    vs2:vsrc_ui_ls_mir2
                                   Idle    -         -            3672728c-ad06-11e2-981e-123478563412
    
  2. Use the snapmirror delete command to delete a mirror relationship.
    Example

    The following command deletes a mirror relationship between a destination volume named src_ui_ls_mir2 and a source volume named src_ui:

    vs2::> snapmirror delete -source-path vs1:src_ui
    -destination-path vs2:src_ui_ls_mir2
    The command deletes the mirror relationship, but does not delete the destination volume. In the case of a load-sharing mirror copy, the destination volume will be in the restricted state. If you want to use it as a destination volume of a data protection relationship, you must wait at least 10 minutes. This is the amount of time required to refresh internal caches and place the volume back online.
  3. Use the snapmirror release command from the source SVM to remove the configuration information and Data ONTAP created Snapshot copies on the source volume.
    Example
    The following command removes the DP or XDP relationship from the source SVM named vs1:
    vs1::> snapmirror release -source-path vs1:src_ui -destination-path 
    vs2:src_ui_ls_mir2
    This command removes the DP or XDP relationship information from the source SVM and does not delete any volumes. This command deletes the base Snapshot copies for the destination volume named src_ui_ls_mir2 from the source volume named src_ui.
  4. Optional: Use the volume delete command to delete the destination volume.
    Delete the destination volume if you no longer need the volume.