Table of ContentsView in Frames

Resynchronizing the vFiler unit

You can resynchronize the original vFiler unit with the currently activated disaster recovery vFiler unit before reactivating the original vFiler unit. If you resynchronize, you do not have to delete the original vFiler unit and create a new vFiler unit. A baseline transfer is also not required.

Before you begin

About this task

If you do not resynchronize the original vFiler unit, baseline transfer occurs between the new vFiler unit and the disaster recovery vFiler unit.

The vfiler dr resync command performs the following actions:
  • Resynchronizes all storage elements that belong to the disaster recovery vFiler unit, including the volumes that were added to the disaster recovery vFiler unit after it was activated.
  • Sets the incremental update interval from the source to the destination to be once every three minutes. Three minutes is the default setting. If you want to change the default setting, you should edit the etc/snapmirror.conf file as described in the Data ONTAP Data Protection Online Backup and Recovery Guide for 7-Mode. If you edit the SnapMirror relationship schedules in the etc/snapmirror.conf file after executing the vfiler dr configure command, the vfiler dr resync command does not modify the SnapMirror relationship schedules for the existing volumes.
Attention:

On the storage system on which you are resynchronizing the original vFiler unit, you must protect any volumes that have the same names as the volumes on the disaster recovery vFiler unit.

If a volume with the same name exists, the volume is automatically added and initialized for SnapMirror transfers from the disaster recovery vFiler unit. Any existing data on the newly added volume is lost.

If you want to delete old Snapshot copies after executing the vfiler dr resync command, you must first release them by using the snapmirror release command. If you fail to do this and Snapshot copies are deleted, and then further SnapMirror updates fail to synchronize.

See the na_snapmirror(1) man page for more information about snapmirror commands.

Steps

  1. On the original storage system, enter the following command:
    vfiler dr resync [-l authinfo] [-a alt-remote, alt-local] [-c secure][-s] dr_vfilername@disaster_recovery_filer

    authinfo is the authentication information specified in the username:password format, where username is the login name of the administration host on the disaster recovery storage system and password is the password for that user name. If you do not specify the authentication information in the vfiler dr resync command, you are prompted for it when you run the command.

    alt-remote is the alternate host name or IP address of the source (the disaster recovery storage system, in this case).

    alt-local is the alternate host name or IP address of the destination (the original storage system, in this case).

    -c enables you to use the secure command channel.

    This option is used only in the vfiler dr commands that interact with the remote storage system.

    -s enables you to set up a synchronous SnapMirror relationship between the source and destination storage systems.

    dr_vfilername is the name of the disaster recovery vFiler unit that is currently in the activated state.

    disaster_recovery_filer is the name of the storage system on which the currently activated disaster recovery vFiler unit exists.

    Note:

    When you run the vfiler dr resync command on the disaster recovery vFiler unit to resynchronize it with the original vFiler unit, you must specify the same options that were used with the vfiler dr configure command for a baseline transfer.

  2. After the resynchronization operation is complete, enter the following command on the storage system on which the original vFiler unit exists to verify the status of the vFiler unit that was resynchronized:
    vfiler status -r original_vfilername

    The original vFiler unit is now in a stopped, DR backup state. This is because the vfiler dr resync command does not activate the vFiler unit on resynchronizing. The vFiler unit continues to behave as a backup disaster recovery vFiler unit until you use the vfiler dr activate command to reactivate it.

  3. Stop the disaster recovery vFiler unit by entering the following command:
    vfiler stop disaster_recover_filer

    disaster_recover_filer is the name of the disaster recovery vFiler unit.

  4. Activate the original vFiler unit by entering the following command:
    vfiler dr activate dr_vfilername@disaster_recover_filer

    dr_vfilername is the name of the disaster recovery vFiler unit that is currently in the stopped state.

    disaster_recovery_filer is the name of the storage system on which the currently stopped disaster recovery vFiler unit exists.

  5. Reinstate the disaster recovery vFiler unit on the disaster recovery storage system:
    vfiler dr resync [-l authinfo] [-a alt-remote, alt-local] [-c secure] [-s] original_vfilername@original_filer