Table of ContentsView in Frames

How Snapshot copies work with data compression

When you run data compression in the default mode after a Snapshot copy is created, the existing data that is locked by the Snapshot copy is compressed.

Snapshot copies lock blocks of data that cannot be freed until the Snapshot copy expires or is deleted. On any volume on which data compression is enabled, when a Snapshot copy of the data is created, any subsequent changes to the data temporarily requires additional disk space, until the Snapshot copy is deleted or expires.