Table of ContentsView in Frames

How deleting a qtree affects tree quotas

When you delete a qtree, all quotas applicable to that qtree, whether they are explicit or derived, are no longer applied by Data ONTAP.

If you create a new qtree with the same name as the one you deleted, the quotas previously applied to the deleted qtree are not applied automatically to the new qtree until you reinitialize quotas. If a default tree quota exists, Data ONTAP creates new derived quotas for the new qtree.

If you don't create a new qtree with the same name as the one you deleted, you can delete the quotas that applied to that qtree to avoid getting errors when you reinitialize quotas.