You must be aware of certain cautions before you start using SnapRestore.
After you use SnapRestore to revert to a selected Snapshot copy, you cannot undo the reversion.
If you revert to a Snapshot copy created before a SnapMirror Snapshot copy, Data ONTAP can no longer perform an incremental update of the data using the snapmirror update command.
However, if there is any common Snapshot copy (SnapMirror Snapshot copy or other Snapshot copy) between the SnapMirror source and SnapMirror destination, then you can use the snapmirror resync command to resynchronize the SnapMirror relationship.
If there is no common Snapshot copy between the SnapMirror source and SnapMirror destination, you should reinitialize the SnapMirror relationship.
If one of the deleted Snapshot copies is the SnapMirror created Snapshot copy, then the information about the SnapMirror relationship is lost. If the information lost is from the destination volume, then you must edit the snapmirror.conf file and add an entry about the SnapMirror relationship to ensure that an instance of this information is available. You can use the snapmirror status command to view the SnapMirror relationship information.
If you delete a Snapshot copy, you cannot recover the Snapshot copy by using SnapRestore.
For more information, see the Data ONTAP Storage Management Guide for 7-Mode.