Table of ContentsView in Frames

Removing the SnapMirror status entries

When you perform an SMTape backup or restore, a SnapMirror status entry is created in the storage system. If you do not want to use SMTape backup for tape seeding, you must remove the SnapMirror status entries after the backup or restore completes.

How to remove the SnapMirror status entries created during backup

After a successful SMTape backup, the base Snapshot copy and the SnapMirror status entry are retained in the volume, which can be used to initialize a volume SnapMirror relationship.
Note: In case of a failed backup, the base Snapshot copy is automatically deleted. However, the SnapMirror status entry is retained.
You can delete a SnapMirror status entry by using the snapmirror release command or by deleting the Snapshot copy.

How to remove the SnapMirror status entries created during restore

After a successful SMTape restore, a SnapMirror status entry is created in the storage system. This SnapMirror status entry lists the restored volume and the base Snapshot copy name that is used to synchronize the SnapMirror source and destination volumes during tape seeding. To remove this SnapMirror status entry, you must make the restored volume writable, and then delete the base Snapshot copy. After the Snapshot copy is deleted, the SnapMirror status entry is automatically removed.