Table of ContentsView in Frames

SnapManager restore options

Use the Restore Settings dialog box to configure default settings for SnapManager restore operations.

Understanding the restore options

The following table describes each of the Restore Settings options.

Restore option Description Default

Recover database without restoring at the end of restore if needed

If the database is not fully operational and you want to leave it operational after restore, on selecting this option SnapManager skips the restore and performs the recover operation.

Not selected

Restore databases even if existing databases are online

If this option is selected and an existing database is online at the time of the restore operation, SnapManager proceeds with the restore and overwrites the existing database.

Selected

Retain SQL database replication settings

If this option is selected and you are restoring databases for an SQL Server instance that is acting as a Publisher or as a Subscriber in a replication topology, the replication relationship is retained after the SnapManager restore operation finishes.

Not selected

Create transaction log backup before restore

If this option is not selected, SnapManager does not create a transaction log backup before the restore is performed, thereby decreasing overall restore time.

Clear this option under the following circumstances:

  • You are recovering from a mirrored backup for which the transaction log files were lost. Disabling this option avoids subsequent creation of SnapManager backup sets on a recovery path that is inconsistent with that of the database.
  • You are restoring a log-shipped database.

Selected

Abort database restore if transaction log backup before restore fails

If this option is selected and the transaction log backup before restore fails, SnapManager aborts the database restore operations.

This option is available when the option "Create transaction log backup before restore" is selected.

Not selected

Ignore Logbackups from SMSQL Repository Share

If this option is selected, log backups on the repository share are not used in the restore.

 

Configuring the profile of a restore operation

To configure the profile of a restore operation, complete the following steps.

Note: For a complete list of parameters that are applied to a database restore operation, see Performing a restore operation.
Step Action
1

Open the Restore Settings dialog box using any of the following options:

  • From the Actions pane, select Restore Settings.
  • From the Action menu, select Restore Settings.
  • From the Restore Wizard, go to the Restore Settings screen and then click the Restore Settings button.

Result The Restore Settings dialog box appears.

2

Select any combination of the restore options you want to use:

  • Leave the database in a state where more logs can be applied
  • Restore databases even if existing databases are online
  • Retain SQL database replication settings
  • Create transaction log backup before restore
  • Abort database restore if transaction log backup before restore fails
3

Click OK to apply your changes and close the dialog box.

Result The new settings will be applied to all subsequent database restore operations.