Table of ContentsView in Frames

Updating the cluster nondisruptively

You can use System Manager to update a cluster or individual nodes in HA pairs running Data ONTAP 8.3.1 to a particular Data ONTAP version without disrupting access to client data.

Before you begin

About this task

Steps

  1. Select the software image of the Data ONTAP version to which you want to update your system:
    1. Expand the Cluster hierarchy in the left navigation pane.
    2. In the navigation pane, click Cluster Update.
    3. In Cluster Update tab, perform one of the following operations:
      If you want to... Then...
      Add a new software image
      1. Click Add.
      2. In the Add a New Software Image dialog box, enter the URL of the HTTP or FTP server on which you have saved the image downloaded from the NetApp Support Site.
      3. Click Add.
      Select the available image Choose one of the listed images.
  2. Click Next.
  3. Click Validate to run the pre-update validation checks to verify whether the cluster is ready for an update.
    The validation operation checks the cluster components to validate that the update can be completed nondisruptively, and then provides the status of each check along with any remedial action you must perform before performing the software update, if required.
    Important: You must perform all the required remedial actions for the errors before proceeding with the update. Although you can ignore the remedial actions for the warnings, the recommended practice is to perform them before proceeding with the update.
  4. Click Next.
  5. Optional: Click Advanced Options and perform the following steps:
    1. In the Advanced Options area, perform one of the following operations:
      If you want to... Then...
      Update the entire cluster Ensure that the Update the entire cluster check box is selected.

      By default, this check box is selected.

      Update particular HA pairs Clear the Update the entire cluster check box, and then select the HA pair that you want to update.
    2. Specify a different stabilization time if your environment requires more or less time for client stabilization.
      Stabilization time specifies the time period for which the update process should wait after completing a task to enable client applications to recover. It should be in the range of 1 through 60 minutes; it is set to 8 minutes by default.
    3. Select the Pause after every step (not recommended) check box to automatically pause the update after every major step.
      Pausing an update after every major step enables you to review the status of the update and then manually resume the update. This option is disabled by default and the update is not paused unless an error is encountered or you manually pause the update.
    4. Select the Force Rolling Update check box to perform a rolling update.
      This check box is displayed only if your cluster consists of eight or more nodes.
      You can enable this option if the entire cluster is selected or if there are four or more HA pairs for update.
  6. Click Update.

    Validation is performed again.

    • When the validation is complete, a table is displayed, which shows the status of each check and any required remedial action that you have to perform before proceeding.
    • If the validation is completed with warnings, you can select the Continue update with warnings check box, and then click Continue.

    When the validation is complete and the update is in progress, the update might be paused due to errors. You can click the error to view the details and then perform the remedial actions before resuming the update.

    After the update is completed successfully, you are redirected to the login page of System Manager.
  7. Verify that the cluster is successfully updated to the selected version by clicking Cluster > Cluster Update > Update History and viewing the details.