Table of ContentsView in Frames

Scheduled updates for volumes or qtrees

You can edit the destination’s snapmirror.conf file to change or turn off scheduled updates for a particular volume or qtree if you decide that there is no need to update the destination.

You might want to change the time or frequency of scheduled updates if the pattern of use or the configuration of the systems has changed. Or, if you want to use the volume for a different purpose, you can change the destination to a writable volume.

Note: Editing entries in the destination’s snapmirror.conf file to turn off scheduled updates does not change the destination to a writable volume. If you want to change the destination to a writable volume or qtree, you use the snapmirror break command to turn the destination into a writable volume or qtree and the snapmirror release command to allow SnapMirror to delete the Snapshot copies it no longer needs on the source.

You can edit the destination’s snapmirror.conf file to turn off or change scheduled updates at any time, even when data transfer is underway. The destination remains the same as before the transfer. The Snapshot copy taken in the source for the data transfer remains, but it can be deleted and replaced by a new Snapshot copy the next time the destination is updated.