Table of ContentsView in Frames

Deleting Snapshot copies automatically

You can define and enable a policy for automatically deleting Snapshot copies by using the snap autodelete command. Automatically deleting Snapshot copies can help you manage space utilization.

Step

  1. To enable a policy for automatically deleting Snapshot copies, enter the following command: snap autodelete vol_name on option value

    vol_name is the name of the volume.

    on enables the Snapshot copy autodelete policy.

    Note: You cannot delete Snapshot copies that are locked by LockVault.

    To specify which Snapshot copies to delete, enter the following options and their values:

    Option Value
    commitment Specifies whether Snapshot copies locked by data protection utilities (SnapMirror or ndmpcopy command) or data backup mechanisms (volume or LUN clones) can be deleted.
    • try

      Deletes all Snapshot copies that are unlocked. This option deletes Snapshot copies that are not locked by data protection utilities or data backup mechanisms.

    • disrupt

      Deletes Snapshot copies that are unlocked or locked by data protection utilities. Snapshot copies that are locked by data backup mechanisms cannot be deleted by using the disrupt option. This option is used when there are no Snapshot copies for the try option to delete.

    • destroy

      Deletes Snapshot copies that are locked by data protection utilities and data backup mechanisms.

    destroy_list Specifies whether Snapshot copies locked by LUN clones, file clones, volume clones, or CIFS share can be deleted.
    • lun_clone

      Deletes Snapshot copies that are locked by LUN clones.

    • file_clone

      Deletes Snapshot copies that are locked by file clones.

    • vol_clone

      Deletes Snapshot copies that are locked by volume clones.

    • cifs_share

      Deletes Snapshot copies that are locked by CIFS share.

    • none

      Prevents all Snapshot copies from being deleted.

    You can specify multiple values (except none) as a comma-separated list for the destroy_list option.
    Note: You can use this option only if you specify destroy for the commitment option.
    trigger Specifies when to begin automatically deleting Snapshot copies.
    • volume

      Begins deleting Snapshot copies when the volume reaches its autodelete threshold and no space is available in the Snapshot copy reserve.

    • snap_reserve

      Begins deleting Snapshot copies when the Snapshot copy reserve reaches the autodelete threshold.

    • space_reserve

      Begins deleting Snapshot copies when the space reserved in the volume reaches the autodelete threshold and no space is available in the Snapshot copy reserve.

    The autodelete threshold is some percentage of the volume size, as follows:
    • If the volume size is less than 20 GB, the autodelete threshold is 85%.
    • If the volume size is equal to or greater than 20 GB and less than 100 GB, the autodelete threshold is 90%.
    • If the volume size is equal to or greater than 100 GB and less than 500 GB, the autodelete threshold is 92%.
    • If the volume size is equal to or greater than 500 GB and less than 1 TB, the autodelete threshold is 95%.
    • If the volume size is equal to or greater than 1 TB, the autodelete threshold is 98%.
    target_free_space Determines when to stop deleting Snapshot copies. The target_free_space value is some percentage of the volume. For example, if you specify 20, then Snapshot copies are deleted until 20% of the volume is free space. It is a common practice to specify the target_free_space value 2% less than the autodelete threshold to avoid deleting Snapshot copies unnecessarily.
    delete_order Specifies which Snapshot copies to delete first: newest or oldest.
    • newest_first

      Deletes the most recent Snapshot copies first.

    • oldest_first

      Deletes the oldest Snapshot copies first.

    defer_delete Deletes one of the following types of Snapshot copies last:
    • scheduled

      Snapshot copies that are scheduled automatically.

    • user_created

      Snapshot copies that are not scheduled automatically.

    • prefix

      Snapshot copies with the specified prefix string.

    • none

      Deletes all Snapshot copies immediately.

    prefix Deletes Snapshot copies with a specific prefix last. You can specify up to 15 characters (Example: sv_snap_week).
    Note: You can use this option only if you specify prefix for the defer_delete option.