Table of ContentsView in Frames

Returning systems to the original configuration

In certain scenarios, you can return the systems to the original configuration after using backup and standby.

About this task

This is an optional procedure because you might not need to return the backup configuration to the original systemA to systemB to systemC configuration.

Steps

  1. Ensure that the secondary system and tertiary system have the same data by temporarily blocking SnapVault updates to the secondary system.
    Example
    Perform the following step from the secondary system, systemC.snapvault snap unsched vol3
  2. Allow updates to the secondary system to be propagated to the tertiary system.
    Example
    Perform the following step from the tertiary system, systemB.snapmirror update systemB:vol2
  3. Reverse the roles of the secondary and tertiary systems, so that what was the secondary becomes the tertiary system and what was the tertiary becomes the secondary system.
    Example
    Perform the following step from the new tertiary system, systemC:snapmirror resync systemC:vol3
  4. Release resources locked on systemC for the removed systemC to systemB SnapMirror relationship.
    Example
    Perform the following step from the new tertiary system, systemC. snapmirror release vol3 systemB:vol2
  5. Break the SnapMirror relationship on systemB to allow further SnapVault updates from the original SnapVault relationship.
    Example
    Perform the following step from systemB.snapmirror break vol2
  6. Re-create the original SnapVault relationship from systemA to systemB.
    Example
    Perform the following step from systemB (the original secondary system).snapvault update /vol/vol2/qtree3
  7. Re-create the original SnapMirror relationship from systemB to systemC.
    Example
    Perform the following step from systemC (the original tertiary system).snapmirror update vol3
  8. Remove the SnapVault configuration from systemC.
    Example
    Perform the following step from systemC.snapvault stop [-f] /vol/vol3/qtree3
    This command is available on the secondary system only. The command unconfigures the qtree to ensure that are no more updates of the qtree and then deletes the qtree from the active file system.

    The -f option forces the snapvault stop command to proceed without first asking for confirmation.