Table of ContentsView in Frames

Destroying a volume

If you no longer need a volume and the data it contains, you can destroy the volume to free its space for other data.

About this task

When you destroy a FlexVol volume, all the disks included in its containing aggregate remain assigned to that containing aggregate, although the space associated with the volume is returned as free space to the containing aggregate.

When you destroy a traditional volume, however, you also destroy the traditional volume’s dedicated containing aggregate. This converts its parity disk and all its data disks back into hot spares. After the disks have been zeroed, you can use them in other aggregates, traditional volumes, or storage systems.

Attention: If you destroy a volume, the data in the volume is no longer accessible.

Steps

  1. Take the volume offline by entering the following command:vol offline vol_name
  2. Enter the following command to destroy the volume:vol destroy vol_name

Result

The following events occur:
  • The volume is destroyed.
  • If NFS is in use and the nfs.exports.auto-update option is on, entries in the /etc/exports file that refer to the destroyed volume are removed.
  • If CIFS is running, any shares that refer to the destroyed volume are deleted.
  • If the destroyed volume was a FlexVol volume, its allocated space is freed, becoming available for allocation to other FlexVol volumes contained by the same aggregate.
  • If the destroyed volume was a traditional volume, the disks it used become hot spare disks.

After you finish

If you access your storage system using NFS, update the appropriate mount point information in the /etc/fstab or /etc/vfstab file on clients that mount volumes from the storage system.