Table of ContentsView in Frames

Linux configurations that support ALUA

The Linux Host Utilities support ALUA (asymmetric logical unit access) on hosts running Red Hat Enterprise Linux or SUSE Linux Enterprise Server and a version of Data ONTAP that supports ALUA.

Note: ALUA is also known as Target Port Group Support (TPGS).

ALUA defines a standard set of SCSI commands for discovering path priorities to LUNs on SANs. When you have the host and storage controller configured to use ALUA, it automatically determines which target ports provide optimized and unoptimized access to LUNs.

Note: If you are using clustered DATA ONTAP, ALUA is supported with the FC, FCoE, and iSCSI protocols and you must use it. If you are using DATA ONTAP operating in 7-Mode, ALUA is supported only with the FC and FCoE FC protocols.

ALUA is automatically enabled when you set up your storage for FC.

The following configurations support ALUA:
Host Utilities Version Host requirements Data ONTAP versions
Host Utilities 4.0 and later
  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 or later
  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5 Update 1 or later
  • SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 10 SP2 or later
  • SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 11 or later
Note: Veritas Storage Foundation 5.1 or later support ALUA with the FC protocol.
7.2.4 or later